Breaking the Law! (Gasp)

Hello hello,

So….you think that using an image belonging to an individual or organisation direct from google images is okay because there is a cut and paste option? Well it may actually be naughty and if you have done it then you could be naughty. I have done it- so I am naughty. In fact I had no clue that this was breaching Australia’s copyright law.

For the images I have used in my blogs pretty much all but one have been directly copied and pasted as my feature image from google images. Innocent right? Wrong. While I’m a student it is possible that I can slip under the radar because I am using them to enhance my studies- which I genuinely am. There are exemptions of course and you can find some of these here.

It personally gives me more of a reason to create my own images/music for my work especially because I genuinely enjoy doing it. I think it would also make my work more authentic.

To be honest I’m still a bit confused about how these laws work because in school I remember being told that as long as I reference my work (including images and audio) then I was safe. I thought this applied to everyone. Apparently not. Now to do something about the images I HAVE used in a way that is possibly naughty.

Notice my feature image? I took that. It’s mine- I promise.

But I’m not ungrateful. I’m glad I know this now. I’d much prefer to know and do something about it than live in ignorance.

I shall keep investigating this until it makes more sense.

Peace!

brittbrady

3 thoughts on “Breaking the Law! (Gasp)”

Leave a comment